Daylight Saving Time

The inception of Daylight Saving Time (DST) this year will be marked on 12 March at 2 a.m., as Americans will turn their clock one hour ahead.  

DST is established in the USA by the federal law. However, there’s no obligation for any area to observe DST. Although, if any state chooses to observe DST, the starting and the ending dates set by the law should be observed. From 2007 these dates were changed and now DST is observed starting from the 2nd Sunday in March and ending with the 1st Sunday in November.

No DST for Hawaii and Arizona

Hawaii and Arizona (except for the Nation of Navajo) as well as American Samoa, Virgin Islands, Guam and territories of Puerto Rico stay on "standard time" throughout the year and don’t observe DST. 

The Dawning of DST in Indiana

Before the April of 2005, when a new law that agreed to observe DST in Indiana was passed, the state had a very difficult time system. There were two time zones in one state, but it wasn’t the strangest thing. Even more perplexing was the fact that only few regions of the state observed DST, while the majority of regions skipped it.  

According to the old system, out of 92 counties that were in ETZ (Eastern Time Zone), 77 didn’t observe DST and remained on standard time for the duration of the whole year. Only 2 counties near Louisville, Kentucky and Cincinnati, Ohio supported DST.

On the other hand, counties near Chicago and near Evansville, being a part of the CTZ (Central Time Zone) used both daylight time and standard time.

The movement from the old system to DST was not an easy one, because the bills that suggested using DST failed more than 20 times until they were finally accepted in April 2005. On 2 April 2006, Indiana joined 47 states to observe DST. Nevertheless, the time system in Indiana still remains somewhat mysterious because 18 counties observe Central Daylight Time, while 74 other Indiana’s counties use Eastern Daylight Time.

New Federal Law

Shortly after the time changes in Indiana, DST was extended for a month following the energy bill passed by the Congress. Starting from 2007, DST begins of the 2nd Sunday of March and ends with the 1st Sunday in November.

Comparisons around the World

DST is observed in more than 70 countries around the world. Of course, their time systems have their own peculiarities. Here are some facts about how DST is observed in these countries:

  • Almost all Canada, with some exceptions, uses DST  
  • Mexican time zones have received the same time schedule as the United States in 1996   
  • In the same year, European Union countries came to the agreement in regards to the observation of the "summer-time period"
  • Almost all countries, which are situated near the equator observe standard time all year long